Kombucha-Ha-Ha

Standard

That post title was supposed to go something like this “Kambucha…[evil laugh]”

Last week my local Whole Foods store was hosting a Kambucha tasting. I’ve always wanted to try Kambucha but I was hesitant to buy a $3 bottle of it without knowing if I’d even like it or not.. I have browsed the Kambucha selections before, specifically focusing on the added ingredients to make sure it was Whole30 compliant or not. I had a hard time finding a brand without any added sugar. Although I have recently learned that GT’s Kombucha brand is Whole30 compliant.

At the sample table they had three different offerings of Kombucha brands. I didn’t want to be a pain in the ass and go behind each table to scour the ingredients of each brand of Kombucha, so I picked the one less crowded and started up a conversation with the woman filling up my cup. She let me be a pain in the ass and pick up all three bottles to make sure they were all compliant. Luckily they were! The brand I tried was Buchi, which is actually a local brewery based out of Asheville, NC. I sampled their “Fire” and “Seed” flavors. Both were very different but pretty dang delicious. I bought both and had my first one this afternoon with lunch.

seed

I had the “seed” flavor this afternoon. The listed ingredients included: “Organic Raw Kombucha, Organic Apple Juice, Organic Coconut Water, Organic Pineapple Juice, Organic Pumpkin Seeds, Organic Black Sesame Seeds, Perilla Seeds, Organic Tumeric Root and Organic Natural Flavors.”

It also had fun informative facts on its bottle like “Contains Live Probiotic Cultures” and “Preservative, Additive, Gluten, Dairy and GMO free!

kambuchi

I poured the Kombucha into a glass to see its color. The soapy head instantly reminded me of beer, which felt really fun-like I was flirting with the black and white lines of Whole30. The beverage was immensely flavorful. The up front taste reminded me of apple cider vinegar (which is one of my favorite flavors ever!). It was bubbly, tart and sour yet it was balanced with sweet fruity flavors. It was also probably the most carbonated beverage I’ve drank since I gave up soda months ago.

All in all, two thumbs up! Especially after reading more and more about Buchi’s company. Not only are the local but they are also very dedicated to sustainability. Plus, they even distribute their Kombucha to local cafes, restaurants, pubs, and grocery stores that offer it fresh on tap! How cool?! Looks like I need to plan a trip to Asheville. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

