Spring, Finally!

Standard

Spring’s first day did not disappoint! The weather got a little over 70 today with lots of beautiful sunshine. I am so glad to be ending this week sunny side up instead of it being rainy and dreary. Ironically though, my mom emailed me today asking me if I’ve heard about the winter storm predicting to come next week. I am ignoring her for now and enjoying Spring, even if it only lasts for the first day….at least it was a good entrance.

After work I had to drive through town’s 5 o’ clock traffic to go to Bed, Bath and Beyond to get my best friend a present off her registry for her bridal shower on Saturday. I didn’t want to do it after work on Friday and I wasn’t able to do it any other day this week so it was today or bust. Afterwards, I stopped by the grocery store and purchased some button mushrooms, a bell pepper, and a red onion. Hubs brought home some sirloin tips the other day so, what better way to celebrate Spring than by grilling kebabs?!

Image

I literally just chopped up some veggies and put them on the skewer with the meat. I didn’t add any juices, spices, or fat. The only real effort I made was to make sure my husband’s skewer didn’t have any mushrooms on it because he doesn’t like them (more for me). I didn’t even salt and pepper them. I just didn’t feel like it. When I got home, I tied my running shoes up and went on a quick one mile fun run around the neighborhood to take opportunity of the lovely evening and to shake out my limbs from the drive.

Image

I kept it simple. No need to stress about dinner if I just don’t feel like spending as much time in the kitchen as I normally do. Don’t get me wrong, I love being in the kitchen; but tonight I just wanted to run a mile outside and come home to smell simple kebabs on the grill. Happy Spring!

Leave a Reply

