St. Patty’s Potato-Free Irish Colcannon

Standard

Happy St. Patty’s Day! Instead of suffering from the Irish flu, I put some green socks on and wore a Celtic knotted headband to work and had a productive Monday that flew by. I woke up this morning ready to go! I made a festive breakfast for Hubs: green eggs and kegs (minus the kegs)!

Image

I scrambled a couple of eggs together and squeezed a few drops of some green food dye in it. I was curious to know what was in the food dye: “water, propylene glycol, and propylparaben” to name a few. I wish I can figure out a way to use a natural green colored food dye. Maybe crushed up herbs or something? Hmmm…a project for next year! After reading the scary ingredient list, I decided to skip the green chemical and try out an equally festive theme: Taste the Rainbow!

Image

I added some parsley later to give it some green. I added yesterday’s Everything Green Salad to some lettuce with baked chicken this afternoon for lunch and it was delicious! Not to toot my own horn or anything, but I feel like I am getting better and better in the kitchen with each day. I’m not needing to rely on recipes as often as I was and I have been very happy with going rogue on certain meals in the kitchen! Or maybe it’s just St. Patty’s Day luck?! We shall see….

Image

My two first meals of the day were pretty festive. I had “Taste the Rainbow” for breakfast and the greenest salad ever for lunch (with mint!). I had to end today on an Irish Bang! Thanks to yesterday’s rain I was able to get some much-needed prep time in the kitchen for tonight’s dinner. I recently bought a mini CSA basket from a local produce shop. It came with the cutest head of cabbage ever and lots of little tiny turnip roots and rutabagas. I actually had to study and examine the roots to figure out what they were because they look so different than when they are all shiny and polished in the grocery store!

Image

Image

I peeled and diced all of my root vegetables yesterday, so when I got home from the gym this evening I went right to the kitchen and put a pot of water on the stove to boil. I then played around with some scallions.

Image

Okay, enough of that. Once the pot came to a boil, I put the root veggies in there and let them simmer for a good 20 minutes. While they were simmering, I diced the photoed scallions with some onions and sauteed them in some ghee.

Image

I love the smell of onions being sauteed. Mmmmm…. Once my root veggies were soft and tender, I emptied them into the Ninja blender and pureed them. I kept the water in the pot and put the stove on high heat again. I sliced the cutest little cabbage into quadruplets and put them in the hot water along with some sliced leeks. I found this frozen bag of sliced leeks at Trader Joe’s. I was so happy to find it for my recipe!

Image

Once my cabbage and leeks were soft (which didn’t take long at all), I added them to the blender with the mashed roots. I also added a few garlic cloves here as well. I pulsed the blender a few times to make everything nice and mixed, but I did intentionally avoid trying to puree the entire thing. After a few rounds of pulsing, it was nicely blended. I poured it into a baking dish and then added the sauteed onions and scallions to it and gently mixed it. To top it off, I put a few extra diced scallions on top with some melted ghee. I must admit, it looked quite aesthetically pleasing for an Irish dish.

Image

I popped the dish in the oven for 20 minutes and then pan fried lamb chops simply with salt and pepper.

Image

After listening to several different versions of tin whistles and bag pipes playing on the TV music channel, it was time to take the Colcannon out of the oven!

Image

Image

I added salt and pepper to taste and let it cool. After tonight’s kitchen fun, I think it is safe to say I will survive if another Potato Famine strikes–maybe even thrive!? My Irish husband is playing trivia tonight, so it was just me and Lady-dog playing in the kitchen. She enjoyed licking my plate when I was finished, so I am going to assume that she approves. I am excited for the leftovers to be recreated into new meals and am already thinking of what I can use the Colcannon for. Its starchiness will make a great post-workout meal. Or even better, its grits-like texture would make a perfect combination with bacon in the morning! I’ll keep you posted. See? No more searching for recipes; I am inspired! Then again, there is that chayote in the fridge still that I have no idea what to do with….

 

Leave a Reply

