Mean and Green

Standard

Image

So, I bought some fresh mint (since my own planting herbs are no where near growing this season yet) in honor of the upcoming St. Patty’s Day….which basically means the weekend before St. Patty’s Day–because who likes to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day on a Monday?! I just realized though that if I’m buying mint to celebrate SPD instead of a case of Guinness like I have in years past I really don’t need my festivities to fall on any specific day of the week. Ha!

In the spirit of celebrating holidays (which my Hubs and I love to do–Christmastime requires a different Hallmark movie every night of the week), I am kicking off the end of my week with Nom Nom Paleo’s Green Chicken. I had two out of the three green herbs the recipe called for. I went to a grocery store that I despise going to, but it was on my way home from work, and I was optimistic that they would at least have fresh basil available. Nope. Well, at least I had mint, cilantro, and dried basil in the spice cabinet. I also had lime in the fridge which I can add towards my greenness.

This morning while my breakfast was cooking I blended all of the ingredients together: onion, garlic clove, lime, cilantro, mint, and (dried) basil. I didn’t have any Fish Boast sauce, so I just put some Coconut Aminos in it. I also didn’t put any of the apple juice the recipe called for so my puree ended up being less liquid and more chunky. I threw the mean green marinade in a bowl with my chicken drumsticks and let it sit for the rest of the day in the fridge.

Image

Image

I was tickled that the chicken actually looked green! While the drumsticks were on the grill I sauteed some green beans in coconut oil with some diced sweet potato. Hubs and I are running a 5K in the morning and he mentioned wanting to “carbo load” tonight, so I threw in the sweet potato-ha! It definitely wasn’t his idea of loading on carbohydrates, but it suited me perfectly.

Image

The chicken came out absolutely beautifully. Once I saw how awesome they looked I forgot about worrying about my basil-to-mint ratio.

Image

Image

Hubs was the first one to taste and I knew it was going to be good by his reaction.

ImageI made more green beans than I anticipated, so I have plenty of leftovers to carry me through my celebratory green weekend. I’m looking forward to our 5K tomorrow. Hubs and I haven’t ran a 5K together since April of 2011! It’s a huge local event that people go all out for. There will be tons of green and hopefully even bagpipes!

Leave a Reply

