Super Powers

Standard

I’m so glad to report that I am finally getting back into my healthy rhythm! I woke up today feeling better than I have in a week. I played catch up at work all day today, but it wasn’t too bad since it made the day fly by. I skipped out on the afternoon workout session because I didn’t want to overdo it. Instead, I took a 35 minute walk outside in the beautiful 70 degree weather.

I have been really tired tonight! I just remembered it was Daylight Saving’s yesterday though. I haven’t even set my watch yet to the correct time. I usually wait a couple of days to do this…I have no idea why!

A yummy little meal I’ve been making while  I’ve been sick these past few days has been a super healing salad. I made a big pot of soup that I was eating often and I was getting a little burnt out with it so I decided to make a salad.  I chopped some of my ginger root and minced some garlic clove and added them to a bed of lettuce. I then drizzled some apple cider vinegar on top.

It was perfect! I am so mad I didn’t take a picture! Garlic has been used medicinally for ages and almost always tastes good in any recipe (even if it requires me to brush my teeth right after consuming). Ginger is equally valuable to recipes as well as to medicine men. And I don’t mean the ground stuff-get the root! It is so zesty and fresh! As far as the vinegar goes, I know not everyone is a fan, but I could literally drink it by the bottle! I pour it on my salads and go trough bottles pretty quickly. I’m honestly not too knowledgeable on how beneficial vinegar is, but I have heard people say that it helps. Helps with what? I don’t know. There’s probably a good balance of folk tales vs research out there regarding vinegar. I do know that I use organic, raw, and unfiltered apple cider vinegar. Bragg’s product website claims their Apple Cider Vinegar is “rich in enzymes and potassium, supports a healthy immune system, promotes digestion, helps soothe dry throats, and helps remove body sludge toxins.” Well, there ya go!

Image

So, for a super healing and delightfully tasty alternative to soup and hot tea when you are hungry and sick toss some ginger, garlic, and apple cider vinegar together and you will find yourself on the road to recovery with satisfied taste-buds.

Leave a Reply

