Strep Breath

Standard

So, after I blogged about how I was feeling better yesterday I woke up in the middle of the night last night and knew I’d be going to the doctor this morning. It is so weird! Yesterday I was feeling almost back to normal. I didn’t really have any throat pain and the swelling in my tonsils was decreasing. I did notice that my lymph nodes were still swollen and stiff though. But, I thought I was improving, so with just another day I’d be good as new!

I woke up around 3:30 and noticed the pain in my throat was worse than yesterday. I got up, went to the bathroom, turned the light on, stuck my tongue out, and looked in the back of my throat to see that the white patches were back on my tonsils again! Damnit! I guess I can’t run from bacteria. I entertained the idea of whether an Urgent Care was open this time of night but then I quickly went back to sleep.

I woke up and found an Urgent Care that opened at 8. Hubs went with me after I told him numerous times he didn’t have to. The last time I had been to an Urgent Care was New Years 2010 for strep throat! Ha! I think I need to get my tonsils removed! My pain was far worse and they had to give me a steroid shot in my bum right away. I remember it being sore weeks later and feeling it whenever I ran! Luckily, I dodged any shots. If not i would be running a painful 5K on Saturday!

The nurse swabbed my throat and the doctor came in and asked why I had strep throat at my age? The funny thing about that is, I’ve never had problems with my throat as a kid except for the occasional cold. Ever since I got tonsillitis the first time in college, I’ve had it about 3 times since. Hubs thinks there must be a correlation between people who like to eat their food burning hot and throat illnesses. I must admit, I won’t eat soup unless it is steaming. And if anything is being cooked in the oven, I don’t wait for it to cool off–oftentimes leaving my mouth burned. I wonder if he has a point? Do I have lots of scar tissue in my mouth from eating food that’s too hot? And does that make me more susceptible to infection? Hmmmm….I’ll have to ask my friend in med school.

Anyway, the doctor was pretty funny. After calling me highly contagious and warning Hubs that he could be next, he took both of my hands into his (ha!) and apologized that I wasn’t feeling well. It was actually pretty endearing. Then he asked me to open my mouth while he took a big sniff and proclaimed that I had the “strep breath.” I read about streptococcus having a potent smell so I knew exactly what he was referring to. My husband on the other hand was wide-eyed and grossed out. Haha!

He prescribed me some antibiotics and I was on my merry way to the pharmacy. I picked up some ginger root on the way home to put in my tea. I’ve never actually eaten ginger form the root–just the pink flaps that come with sushi. This stuff is zesty! So zesty, it would taste too spicy for my husband. It really soothes the throat!

Image

I’m really hoping I will feel back to normal tomorrow. I’ll be on medication for almost 24 hours by then, and I read that after 24 hours of being treated you aren’t contagious anymore. Hubs is already protesting that I need one more day, but I really want to catch up on everything to get a good start off to the work week. At least I’m on drugs now, so it should all be smooth sailing from here! 😉

Leave a Reply

