Mardi Gras

Standard

Fat Tuesday is an understatement….

Or at least that’s how I feel anyway! I had a great weekend but have missed my routine like crazy! I feel like I’ve gotten off on the wrong start to this week and it has been a challenge trying to get back into my groove. I really miss the structure that the Whole30 had given me and even though it has only been a week since I completed my 30 days, I am already pseudo-planning on going back again. And maybe even longer this time. I felt so amazing at the end of my 30 days and kept recalling how I felt like I was just beginning. Maybe 30 days isn’t enough for me. I’m coming from a past that has had my fair share of disordered eating, so I truly believe that a Whole60 would give me more time to tame my sugar dragon. Then again, maybe I am being dramatic. Anyway, it is something I am thinking more and more about it.

For the time being, it is Mardi Gras, and I have made a delicious compliant dinner to celebrate. Hubs loved this one! It was super easy too. I diced an onion and sauteed it in coconut oil. I then added some minced garlic to it. I emptied a bag of frozen chopped okra into the mixture and let it cook with a pound of Andouille sausage. I also added a bit of cayenne pepper to give it a Cajun kick! When the the sausage was browned, I added a pound of shrimp to it and let it cook until the shrimp colored. While everything was cooking, I pulsed a head of cauliflower in the blender and folded it onto a baking dish. Then I poured my Cajun concoction on top of my wannabe rice pilaf. I drizzled some melted ghee on top and put in the oven for a good 20 minutes.

Image

I was worried that my Hubs was going to see the slivers of Okra peaking out of the top and run. He does not like okra. Somehow, he didn’t notice and ate it up. He is having more tonight too. Score!

Leave a Reply

