Ice Ice Baby

Standard

This post is just a quickie! The ice has arrived and I am grateful that I have power to type this. There are already several reports of many without power. I drove to the grocery store really quickly to get something I needed and there were traffic lights without any power as well. No snow though. I learned on the news today that 1/2 an inch of ice can  add up to 500 pounds in weight. Crazy! Luckily, my band rehearsal did get canceled this evening so I didn’t have to feel guilty about making the decision not to drive around the river and through the woods.

So, as I am typing this I am utterly exhausted. However, just a few hours ago I got an amazing taste of the tiger blood. I couldn’t believe I felt it so soon, but then I checked the Whole30 timeline, and it seems like I am right on! Today is Day 17! Tiger blood is described on the timeline below.

Days 16-27: Tiger Blood

Goodbye cravings, hello Tiger Blood! This must be what everyone is talking about!

You’ve hit the downhill slope of your Whole30 and life is beautiful. Your energy is through the roof, you’ve kicked the cravings, you’re experimenting with new, delicious food, and you’ve finally got the time to notice that your clothes fit better, your workouts are stronger, and you are generally more awesome.

There’s not much more to say about this phase – go forth and enjoy!

On my last Whole30, I only experienced Tiger Blood towards the very last week. After work (and after my Whole Foods run) I stopped by the gym on my way home. I wanted to get some cardio in because I didn’t know when the next time I would be able to if the weather and roads got really nasty overnight. I did a quick 35 minute session on the Elliptical and planned on going home right after. But once I got off the machine my body was just craving something more intense. I couldn’t shake the feeling, so I got on the treadmill and planned on just doing a quick sprint for 5 minutes. Now, I hate the treadmill. I’d rather run in the bitter cold or the sweltering heat instead of on a stationary machine indoors. So, that’s why I only wanted to do a quick 5 minutes to shake out real fast. After 5 minutes, I increased the speed and ran until I hit a mile. I felt so good during the little run. I thought maybe it was because I was “cooped” up all day in the office, but then I remembered that I am usually cooped up all day in the office everyday! Plus I did a core workout with some coworkers at noon. Let’s hope this striped kitty DNA doesn’t go away!

Purrrr….time to sleep. I’m taking the tiger blood thing a little too far. I will stop with the purring now.

**Update: Pictures I took this morning that I had to upload on this post since the title is just too appropriate. Here is our ice, (and icicles), baby…

ice cicles

One thought on “Ice Ice Baby

  1. girlv20

    Awesome! Stay safe in the ice. We are supposed to get totally walloped here too :-/ Bring on spring, I say.

Leave a Reply

