Week 2 Recap!

Standard

Half way baybay! By the way, I don’t usually say “baybay” but I wanted it to rhyme, okay? I’m thrilled. I can’t believe it’s been 2 weeks already. I’m again finding myself blogging while dinner is cooking. It is kind of later than I planned on and my stomach is already regretting not starting to cook earlier. Oh well, good thing blogging is a great distraction! I am making Nom Nom Paleo’s Curried Cream of Broccoli Soup.

Last night’s sleep was right on! I I got around 9 hours and Lady didn’t try and wake us up for a midnight snack. I watched Pulp Fiction last night on Netflix for the first time ever. I found myself craving certain foods for the first time…especially when Butch’s girlfriend was describing what she wanted to eat for breakfast: a stack of blueberry pancakes and a piece of pie afterwards. OMG!? Butch’s girlfriend, how could you?! I don’t remember her name but I do remember her accent. I kept commenting on how young everyone looked without realizing that the movie is 20 years old. Damn, I keep thinking we are like in 2004 when it comes to backtracking to the 1990’s. Crazy!

Anyway, this past week has been quite different from the first one. This week has definitely been dynamic….I feel like I am finishing at a much better place than when I started. Here are some worthy mentions from this past week:

  • Sleep: Sleep has been good and great, just not consistently. I’ve still had some crazy binge-fest dreams, especially in the beginning of the week. Some of them felt so real that I could actually taste whatever I was dream-eating, so that when I woke up I felt like I just ate it, plus super guilty. The binge-eating dreams have tapered off somewjere around the middle of last week.  I am still dreaming vividly though! I swore last night I woke up with tears on my face from a dream where I was crying in it. As for sleep, my sleep has been good, some nights are absolutely great and some nights I stir a bit. I remember this happening on my first Whole30. I figure my body is just adjusting to all of its new found energy and doesn’t know how to balance it all yet. Last time it worked itself out pretty quickly.
  • Bloat: I felt puffy and bloated throughout most of the week. Fortunately, a lot of other people experience this and it is written out on the Whole30 timeline. I am starting to feel less bloated but I’m definitely not going to be looking sideways at myself in the mirror at a moments notice. I’m feeling  closer though…hopefully in another week.
  • Complexion: My poor face had quite the roller coaster as well this week. Luckily, acne is not an issue I’ve had since the 7th grade, but I could clearly tell that my hormones were working through a balancing act this past week….and my facial complexion was just another product of their struggle-in additional to all of the above. Today my face looked a lot clearer than it did before the blackheads and blemishes started randomly appearing, so I think my body and I should be prepared to go uphill from here!
  • Energy: I feel amazing! My energy is able to sustain itself throughout the entire day successfully preventing my ever-present 3pm sweet tooth. I had a chaotic week at work and I came out like a champ! I feel less foggy-minded and have a drive to be more productive. In addition to joining a community concert band, I’ve also started making more personal goals for myself. I’ve created a budget for the past month of January for my personal expenses and made a spreadsheet to keep track of our house bills. I really should have done this months ago but now that I’m not planning a wedding or trying to survive the holidays, it is the best time!

So, with all that said, I believe this past week was my body’s time for “working itself out.” I had great sleep last night, woke up with clearer skin, and ran a much better run than last week-all signs that everything is starting to improve. Thank the Whole30 gods and goddesses! And now I leave you with this dreamy picture of my Lady baby. She’s got the right idea here.

Image

3 thoughts on “Week 2 Recap!

  1. girlv20

    I hope this is an indication of good things to come for me, and continued good things for you. Sigh. I want to run, too. p.s. your dog is stinking cute.

Leave a Reply

