Happy Friday

Standard

Happy Friday, indeed! This has been one crazy week. I am glad it is over but I am also glad everything happened in it the way it did. I only worked a 4 hour day today but today still felt like a full day for some reason. I slept so good throughout the night last night but definitely could have slept in some more this morning. Right when I came home I vegged out on the couch for a few minutes and caught up with my Hubs. I feel like we hadn’t really touched base with one another all week because it was so busy. We had family time on the couch with our Lady for a good 20 minutes before I drove to the gym to do a very low intense workout (I just wanted to make sure I got some movement in for today, nothing crazy) and then drove to the grocery store to pick up a few things before officially retiring for the day at home.

In spite of the craziness this week, the food has been amazing and Whole30 has kept rolling on by. This week I’ve also started taking my breakfast to go to work with me in the morning which I have never ever done before. I always make my lunch the night before and wake up to make my breakfast but oftentimes find that I’m not quite hungry yet. Whole30 suggests that you eat right when you wake up, but I actually enjoy eating a little bit later when I start to feel hungry. Plus it fits in nicely to my daily work schedule. There is a little group of us at work that do workout DVDs (currently the T25 workouts) at lunchtime. Usually I am starving before noon and have to try and keep myself not from eating too much before a workout. It’s either that or I end up eating my lunch which leaves me with nothing to eat after the workout! By eating my breakfast a little bit later I am completely content right up until the workout.

Anyway, I am looking forward to crossing the halfway mark on Sunday and diving straight into the third week. I’ve got a lot of fun recipes I am excited to try out. Hopefully next week won’t be so chaotic and I can spend a bit more time in the kitchen cooking dinner instead of just throwing whatever veggie, protein, and fat I can find into the iron skillet. Not that I have not been pleasantly surprised with the taste of my meals this past week–but I would like to spend more time enjoying the process instead of running around like a chicken without its head :). Speaking of meals, here are some of my favorite meals from this past week. I warned you in yesterday’s post to get ready for some close up foodies!

Image

Southwestern Beef Scramble

I apologize for the not capturing the guacamole’s “good” side in this close up. It tasted way better than it looks. I used leftover ground beef, onions, mushrooms, bell peppers and seasoned it with Whole30 taco seasoning, scrambled up some eggs, and dolloped a yummy glob of guacamole on it (as you can see).

Image

Chicken-Grapefruit-Cilantro-Avocado Salad

I used Tessemae’s Lemonette salad dressing and it was the perfect touch to the salad’s combining flavors. I also made this same recipe for lunch the next day with tuna instead of chicken. Just as good!

Image

“Snack-Dinner”

This really isn’t all that pretty, but it sufficed for Tuesday’s hectic schedule. I ate it on the ferry ride over to my first band rehearsal and it lasted me until 10 PM when I was home and able to eat some leftover wild wings and some almond butter with carrots.

Image

Shredded Carrots and Almond Butter

Not baby carrots though! No, I ate all of those earlier in the week and Hubs hadn’t restocked them yet. Damnit! I love baby carrots, they are the perfect size and shape for dipping into almond butter. I buy shredded carrots to put in my salads but this time I dumped the rest of my bag into the bowl with the nut butter and ate it with a spork.

Image

Mahi-mahi, roasted asparagus with olive oil and crushed pecans.

This was one of my favorites this week. I’ve never bought mahi-mahi before. I’ve had it in restaurants, but when I was at the store I thought it would be fun to try something different. I usually always buy salmon or shredded tuna and that is really it for seafood. I also had to use some asparagus I bought a while ago. The best part of this meal was the crushed pecans I put on top of it. It gave it so much flavor and texture!

Image

Not a meal, but very pretty.

This was not a meal. But it was a part of my week that made me smile and be grateful.

Image

Grass-fed burger, mushrooms sauteed in ghee and 2 fried eggs on a bed of spinach.

This was today’s breakfast. So good-looking, even in Tupperware! I also added a few cherry tomatoes in there too.

Image

Post-Workout Meal

This one is pretty self-explanatory; cauliflower, sliced cucumber, and diced turkey. I went to Whole Foods right after the gym to get a few things real quick before going back home. I didn’t think I’d work up an appetite because I just did some slow-paced cardio (the stationary bike and walking on the treadmill) but I got pretty hungry pretty fast while shopping. This tided me over until this evening’s dinner.

Image

Sauteed kale, chicken, and paleo bacon.

Image

Cajun Sweet Potato Wedges (WHAT?!?)

Image

Cajun Sweet Potato Wedges on a bed of sauteed kale, chicken, and bacon. 

Oh sheet…this was one of the best dins yet! I didn’t really want to cook dinner tonight and went to Whole Foods to grab one of their rotisserie chickens. They didn’t have any without added sugar though. They usually always have a “naked” one or a “salt and pepper” one. I was bummed so I went to look over at their already made fresh foods and found the sweet potato wedges. I was instantly in. I bought a pound and ate half tonight and saved half for tomorrow. I know that Whole Foods has a certain reputation, and I can’t help but laugh at the “Surviving Whole Foods” post that went viral last year-but it has really made finding compliant foods so much easier while doing the Whole30. Whole Foods just recently opened up in our location two summers ago and I’m really glad it did. Plus, I feel like I have acquired a niche for finding savings there. More posts to come on that later. I feel like I could right my own chapter on “Whole30 on a Budget” and “Whole Foods: Friend or Foe?” Wow, I like that. Maybe I will save those for later….Anyway, I am super excited to do my second week recap on Sunday. I have experienced some more changes this week, bad and good!

Leave a Reply

