Bacon, Eggs and “Grits”

Standard

Today feels so much like a Sunday to me since I’ve had the past two days off from work. I keep looking at the clock to see how much longer I have until Downton Abbey comes on and then I realize I have 3 more days to wait! I’m looking forward to going to work tomorrow. I thought about how it’d be nice to have one more day off but then I realized it would be followed by the weekend and that would be 5 days off in a row. Although, now that I typed that, it kind of sounds like a nice vacay. The past two days have not been very “vacay” since we have pretty much stayed at home and avoided driving. I actually think the roads were a lot better yesterday than today.

I woke up today around the exact same time I woke up yesterday morning. Kind of cool! I took my time this morning making my breakfast because I usually don’t have a lot of time in the morning to do so. I wanted to take full advantage of my last Snow Day! I had a head of cauliflower in the fridge that I’ve had for a while and decided to make “grits” and eggs. It also gave me another excuse to use my fancy double-pot boiler/strainer thingy that we got for a wedding gift.

Image

I chopped the head into little florets and brought my fancy kitchen pot of water to a boil. I then boiled the cauliflower for a good 15 minutes. After draining the pot, I poured the florets to my Ninja blender (this fancy kitchen gadget was thanks to QVC’s easy pay on a rainy day!).

Image

I then added some ghee to the blender and pulsed that bad boy until the cauliflower looked like this:

Image

Sorry about that picture. The cauliflower was still very hot from its boil and had steamed up the camera.

I then cooked some paleo bacon in my favorite handy-dandy cast iron and fried some eggs (can you tell I love eggs, sunny side up?!).

Image

And then, I mixed it all up!

Image

Mmmmm….reliving all of that makes me want some more for dinner! Well, I have no more cauliflower and won’t go drive on the roads to get any, so it will have to wait until another day. I really wish I had some shrimp on hand, too, so I could make mock “shrimp and grits”….and fried eggs (of course). Just more inspiration for next time!

This morning’s loop around the neighborhood was not as winter “wonderland-y” as it was yesterday. All of the snow had melted and turned into ice that left me in desperate need for some ice skates. Lady wasn’t pleased either; it was a mess! I thought about going to the gym and getting some cardio in to help with the cabin fever, but the gym was closed! It was probably for the best since the roads were so bad anyway, even though we live really close by. Instead, I popped in another workout DVD and busted out some Kenpo X from my Dad’s P90X DVD set that I borrowed without him knowing.

I can’t believe today was Day 5. I feel good, but I know there is more greatness to come. At the end of my last Whole30 I felt like I was just starting to reap the benefits of all of my hard work. I can’t wait to feel that way again!

3 thoughts on “Bacon, Eggs and “Grits”

  1. nnppixiedust

    I love to read new ways of making cauliflower into something yummy! 🙂 Good luck with your Whole 30. I am starting my 2nd today!

    • It is so versatile! Just as good roasted as it is pureed! Thank you, this is actually my second Whole30 as well because I kind of went a little crazy with the off-roading after my first one. I’m hoping that my routine continues this time POST Whole30 Round 2!

Leave a Reply

