Wintery Wednesday

Standard

You all should be very impressed that I even know what day it is today. Without having to go to work to keep me regimented, I’m impressed with myself for even blogging right now. I seriously almost just fell asleep on the couch while watching reruns of Modern Family. I actually thought I’d already have published a blog post by now today with the winter wonderland that has closed down our city, but today was surprisingly pretty productive!

I woke up at 5 AM to feed our Lady dog and quickly looked outside to see if it snowed last night. I must have still been half asleep because I initially didn’t see anything. I then opened the front door and was happy to see SNOW! I asked Lady if she wanted to go outside and she dramatically ran the other day like a Southern Belle diva dog. I didn’t think I was going to fall back asleep but to my surprise I woke back up a little before 8 AM. The benefits of amazing sleep that so many Whole30-ers rave about is so awesome. I’ve always been a morning person and I love having that time of the day alone to myself with my cup of coffee–so, usually if Lady wakes me up at 5 in the morning to eat breakfast, I just accept the fact that I won’t be able to fall back asleep while I turn the coffee pot on. But, now! Now, I am unexpectedly falling back asleep and it is pretty awesome! My husband doesn’t have to complain about me making too much noise in the morning either.

So, once I woke up I brewed some fresh local NC coffee. I never, ever, ever thought I could like black coffee. This was another unexpected benefit of completing a Whole30: finding out that I really enjoy the taste of black coffee. It was the perfect start to a cold snow day. I yanked the crock pot out of the kitchen cabinet and threw in some sliced onion with a pork loin roast. I sprinkled some spices on it (black pepper, sea salt, coriander, cumin, chili powder, onion powder, and parsley) and turned it on low.

We then took a beautiful winter wonderland walk outside. We eventually coaxed Lady into going outside and she ended up having a blast. She ran, she slid, she rolled, and then she tried to eat the snow. We did a nice 20 minute walk, which ended up being the perfect time to go back inside-before my thumb froze off my hand from taking so many pics on my iPhone.

Image

Image

After the walk I drank more coffee (usually I only have one cup a day–this snow apocalypse has me turning rogue) and made a delicious breakfast: onions, kale, and paleo bacon (no sugar added) cooked in ghee with two fried eggs.

Image

Around the afternoon time I felt like I was sitting on the couch too much so I got a little house cleaning done. I then motivated myself to pop in a Jillian Michaels DVD and bust out some 30 Day Shred. I felt so energized afterwards that I hopped in the shower, changed, put some boots on, and braved the roads! I took the very short drive over the bridge to go to the Boardwalk in hopes to see some beach snow! The roads weren’t bad at all. It was much more difficult walking on the boardwalk to get to the beach. I felt like I was rollerskating at times while sliding on the ice and had to hold onto the handrail! My efforts were well worth finding beach snow!

Image

I also got another good 20 minute walk in! Snow Day, Shmo Day! Too bad I overcooked the Crock Pot Pork. Damn you, Snow Day! It was still pretty damn tasty, just pretty damn chewy as well.

All in all, an awesome day to end Day 4! And, tomorrow has officially been named Snow Day, Part II! This has got to be one of the best work weeks I’ve had in a while.

Leave a comment